Exercise as a Positive Influence

You may have already seen that I’m training for the Virginia 10 Miler. And you may already know that I’m a slow runner. The good news is that I’m working hard on it.

So why bother with training for anything? The fact is, I run because it is an effective way for me to stay physically and emotionally fit and healthy. I wager that I don’t really have to explain to anyone how running helps keep me physically fit. It’s a great way to get my cardio exercise, strengthen my muscles, all of that. But emotional fitness? Where does that come into play?

Exercise allows our bodies to affect our emotions in a positive way.

Emotional fitness is tied into our physical fitness. When we get the body moving, it keeps the blood flowing to all parts, even the brain. This improves memory and cognitive function (thinking capacity). Physical activity also releases hormones that improve mood, which makes it a great way to combat depression. See this brief blog from Scientific American to jumpstart your research on this topic.

I personally found physical fitness to be a huge factor in improving my own mental state. While I do not have a diagnosis of depression, I know that exercise and my emotions are closely linked. When I’m not exercising, I struggle to remain positive, and I find that I’m easily annoyed by little things. Conversely, when I train, I find myself much more capable of handling anything life throws at me and staying positive about it all. Especially when dealing with my kids, a good exercise day has me feeling almost Zen-like as I work with helping my kids learn to navigate the world. A skipped workout day may see me chasing them out of the room for breathing loudly. Okay, maybe not exactly, but I’m definitely far less patient on those days!

So, again, why bother? I bother because I care about my kids. They deserve me at my best. If I’m going to challenge them to be their best, I need to take care of myself and show them what that looks like. By taking care of myself, I’m showing them how to take care of themselves and conquer a challenge. And the days that I drag them with me on training runs? The extra bonus there is that they get to experience the benefits of these activities, too. We all wind up being happier on those days.

There may be some other driver for you, though. If you’re struggling today with staying positive or keeping your emtions steady, try some form of exercise. Even if it’s just getting outside to go for a walk, do something. As my digital coach reminded me this morning, you won’t regret the sweat!

You won’t regret the sweat!

I’m currently training for my first half marathon with Audible’s Half-Marathon training program by Katie Barrett. This is just one of the many programs available to Audible subscribers. Check out their free trial here and see if they have a program for you!

Leave a comment